BOOK REVIEW: Lady Midnight ((SPOILER FREE!))


Title: Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1)

Author: Cassandra Clare

Series or Standalone?: Series

Genre: Young Adult, Romance & Fantasy

Rating:  ★★★★★

Recommend?: YES YES YES GET THE BOOK RIGHT NOW!!1!1!

 

 

Goodreads Synopsis:

In a kingdom by the sea…

In a secret world where half-angel warriors are sworn to fight demons, parabatai is a sacred word.

A parabatai is your partner in battle. A parabatai is your best friend. Parabatai can be everything to each other—but they can never fall in love.

Emma Carstairs is a warrior, a Shadowhunter, and the best in her generation. She lives for battle. Shoulder to shoulder with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, she patrols the streets of Los Angeles, where vampires party on the Sunset Strip, and faeries—the most powerful of supernatural creatures—teeter on the edge of open war with Shadowhunters. When the bodies of humans and faeries turn up murdered in the same way Emma’s parents were when she was a child, an uneasy alliance is formed. This is Emma’s chance for revenge—and Julian’s chance to get back his brother Mark, who is being held prisoner by the faerie Courts. All Emma, Mark, and Julian have to do is solve the murders within two weeks…and before the murderer targets them.

Their search takes Emma from sea caves full of sorcery to a dark lottery where death is dispensed. And each clue she unravels uncovers more secrets. What has Julian been hiding from her all these years? Why does Shadowhunter Law forbid parabatai to fall in love? Who really killed her parents—and can she bear to know the truth?

The darkly magical world of Shadowhunters has captured the imaginations of millions of readers across the globe. Join the adventure in Lady Midnight, the long-awaited first volume of a new trilogy from Cassandra Clare.


Review:

BEFORE ANYTHING ELSE JULIAN BLACKTHORN IS MY BABY AND IF YOU THROW SHADE ON HIM I WILL FIND YOU AND I WILL FIGHT YOU OKAY

*breathes* okay let’s go on with this book review

CASSANDRA CLARE YOU HAVE DONE IT AGAIN OH MY!!! WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO ME DO YOU WANT ME TO DIE OR SOMETHING?? I am in love with this book, it’s phenomenal! Lady Midnight got me out of my reading slump but unfortunately it got me in one again. After reading it I just wanted to get my hands on the next one I couldn’t believe that it was over ohhh goood. I don’t even know how I’m gonna recover from this ((tho I might not yikes)). I don’t even know how to feel, my heart’s been shattered into millions of pieces that sunk in the ocean of my tears ((which is also where my ships sail)).

Let me tell you something I was so so hung up on the shadowhunter world, I just finished The Infernal Devices a month before reading Lady Midnight & I wanted more! Fortunately Lady Midnight brought me back to that world. Lady Midnight is the first book of Cassandra Clare’s new series The Dark Artifices. The story is about Emma Carstairs whose parents were murdered during the Dark War & her parabatai Julian Blackthorn.

Lady Midnight differs from The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices, because unlike those series, our girl, Emma is already aware of the shadowhunter world. In TMI Clary didn’t believe in such stuff and same goes for Tessa in TID. They took some time adjusting to a new universe and new people. But in Lady Midnight that didn’t happen, Emma already knows how it is to be a shadowhunter and she already has shadowhunter friends which I really like because it makes it unique.

I love the characters! I love how bad-ass and driven Emma is, she’s like “Okay I’m gonna do this thing even if that happens because yolo” ((yes i just used yolo)). Then there’s also Julian who’s charismatic and who will do everything he can to protect the people he loves. Aside from them the other characters like were given attention which i love because in other books they’re like “okay you’re just a supporting character so no one should care for you bye” ((ya feel?)). Another thing that I loved is the plot itself. I never felt that something was missing or a question was unaswered. I am so soo content with how this book went, the writing was good everything was just so satisfying!

Definitely giving this book 5 out of 5 stars! Get your ass off wherever you are and go to your local bookstore to pick this book up because it would not disappoint. If you are wondering if you have to read The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices and the other Shadowhunter Chronicles you might need to because there are some spoilers plus THEY ARE REALLY GOOD BOOKS WHAT ARE YOU DOING WHY HAVEN’T YOU READ THEM YET GO READ THEM! 


That’s all for today! Have you read Lady Midnight yet? If you have tell me your opinions below and leave me your review links I would love to read them. 🙂

ha

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: Lady Midnight ((SPOILER FREE!))

  1. You are a hilarious force of nature and have completely sold me on this book!!! I’m going to put a hold on it rn so get ready, I’m going to be creepy and come back after I finish it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

